The Race

15 Tour de France were won by the winners of the Tour de l'Avenir: Felice Gimondi, Joop Zoetemelk, Greg Lemond, Miguel Indurain, Laurent Fignon, Egan Bernal and Tadej Pogačar.

L'Avenir goes from strength to strength

Race poster
Click to enlarge

The 58th edition of the Tour de l’Avenir will take place from 18th to 28th August 2022 and will cross France from West to East.

More than ever, the Tour de l’Avenir justifies its reputation as the Tour de France for young people, as shown by the recent prize list, with the victories of the Colombian Egan BERNAL (2017) or the Slovenian Tadej POGACAR (2018) who did not wait more than two years, one as the other, to triumph in the Tour de France!

This year, the event will start with a prelude, a team time trial, in La Roche-sur-Yon (Vendée). The so-called flat section, through the Vendée, Charentes, Vienne and Indre departments, will precede the team time trial, which will take place between Gueugnon and Saint-Vallier (Saône-et-Loire).

As is traditional, the mountains will be the main focus of the event, from the Jura to Savoie, the usual stopping point. A first day of medium mountain will take the riders from the Jura (Saint-Amour) to the Ain department (Oyonnax), before the peloton takes a rest day in Thonon-les-Bains (Haute-Savoie).

The longest stage of this 58th edition will go from Thonon-les-Bains to Saint-François-Longchamp, with 177km to ride and almost 3300 meters of elevation gain. The col de la Madeleine will be the decider of this stage, and the riders will have to climb it once again the next day, by the other side. The long ascent to La Toussuire, on stage 8, will certainly make a difference in the general classification. The last stage, where the peloton will have to cross the col de l’Iseran, the highest road pass in Europe (2764 m) where Egan BERNAL (COL) had forged his success in the 2019 Tour de France, will crown the winner of this Tour de l’Avenir 2022.

Organized by Alpes Vélo, the Tour de l’Avenir, which supports the final round of the UCI Nations Cup for the under-23s, will take place as usual under the formula of the national selections (six riders). The return of this event is essential for the age group of international hopefuls wishing to prove themselves in order to reach the upper echelons. In this respect, the Tour de l’Avenir is the benchmark event and a revelation of new talent.

Race poster
Click to enlarge
Date Start / Finish Type Distance Climbing Video Presented by
18 August
Thursday 18 August
La Roche-sur-Yon (19:00)
La Roche-sur-Yon
4 km
+30 m
Stage 1 
19 August
Friday 19 August
La Roche-sur-Yon Agglomération (13:10)
La Roche-sur-Yon Agglomération (16:23 estim.)
122 km
+880 m
Stage 2 
20 August
Saturday 20 August
Benet (12:30)
Civray (16:23 estim.)
153 km
+713 m
Stage 3 
21 August
Sunday 21 August
Civray (12:40)
La Trimouille - CC Vienne et Gartempe (16:29 estim.)
154 km
+1,124 m
Stage 4 
22 August
Monday 22 August
Sainte-Sévère-sur-Indre (12:00)
Chaillac - Département de l'Indre (15:29 estim.)
143 km
+1,587 m
Stage 5 
23 August
Tuesday 23 August
Gueugnon (14:30)
Saint-Vallier (16:18 estim.)
Team time trial
28 km
+390 m
Stage 6 
24 August
Wednesday 24 August
Saint Amour - CC Porte du Jura (13:00)
Oyonnax (16:11 estim.)
123 km
+2,538 m
Rest day 
25 August
Thursday 25 August
Stage 7 
26 August
Friday 26 August
Thonon-les-Bains (11:35)
Saint François Longchamp - Col de la Madeleine (16:34 estim.)
177 km
+3,293 m
Stage 8 
27 August
Saturday 27 August
Ugine (13:00)
La Toussuire - Les Sybelles (16:30 estim.)
100 km
+3,100 m
Stage 9 
28 August
Sunday 28 August
Bessans (12:00)
Villaroger - CC Haute-Tarentaise (15:48 estim.)
133 km
+2,671 m

The Prizes

Awarded at the end of each stage

Yellow Jersey

General classification leader
The general individual time classification is established by adding the times recorded by each rider in the 9 stages. The yellow jersey is worn by the rider leading the race.
Presented by

Green jersey

Leader of the points ranking
Worn by the leader of the points classification. Points are awarded at each stage finish and at the intermediate sprint in some road stages.
Presented by

Polka dot jersey

Best climber
Covered by the rider who accumulates the greatest number of points acquired on the summits of the climbs and passes listed and classified by category.
Presented by

White jersey

Best younger
The general individual time classification is established by adding the times recorded by each rider in the 9 stages. The white jersey is worn by the rider in the 19-20 age category who is best placed in the general classification of the event.
Presented by

Stage victory

Winner of the day
Each day, the first rider to cross the finish line receives praise from the race announcer on the podium and is honoured by five-time Tour de France winner Bernard Hinault.

Combativity prize

The most combative rider
Awarded at the end of each stage by a jury chaired by the event director to the rider who is the most generous in his or her efforts and shows the best sportsmanship. The winning rider wears a red number on the next stage.
Presented by

Team classification

Best Team at the general classification
The team classification is established by adding the times of the three best riders from each team on each stage.

Trophy of the best French rider

The first French rider
The first French on the general classification will be celebrated on the podium.
Presented by
Awarded on the last day

Super combative rider

at the end of the race
The Super Combative rider of the Tour de l'Avenir is chosen by the jury at the end of the last stage.


The Tour de l’Avenir was created in 1961 by Jacques Marchand, editor of the newspaper L’Équipe.

The race has changed name several times in its history. From 1972 to 1979, it was called the Trophée Peugeot de l’Avenir in reference to its official sponsor. Then from 1986 to 1990, this event took the name of Tour de la Communauté Européenne since it was organised by the European Community and the European Parliament. And finally in 1992, the race acquired its current name of Tour de l’Avenir.

Originally, the Tour de l’Avenir brought together national teams of eight riders, half of whom had to be under 25 years old. Gradually, the race was opened up to professionals. Since 2007, the event is the exclusive domain of young riders aged 19 to 23 years old.

The Tour de l’Avenir is now part of the UCI U23 Nations Cup (category 2.Ncup).

The previous edition

SecondCarlos RODRIGUEZ
ThirdFilippo ZANA
Green JerseyMarjin VAN DEN BERG
Polka Dot JerseyCarlos RODRIGUEZ
Super combative riderLouis COQUERET
Team ClassificationNORWAY
Back to top
The race palmarès
2019Tobias FOSS (NOR)
2018Tadej POGACAR (SLO)
2017Egan BERNAL (COL)
2016David GAUDU (FRA)
2014Miguel Angel LOPEZ (COL)
2012Warren BARGUIL (FRA)
2011Esteban CHAVES (COL)
2010Nairo QUINTANA (COL)
2009Romain SICARD (FRA)
2007Bauke MOLLEMA (NED)
2006Moisés DUENAS (ESP)
2005Lars Ytting BAK (DEN)
2004Sylvain CALZATI (FRA)
2002Evgueni PETROV (RUS)
2001Denis MENCHOV (RUS)
2000Iker FLORES (ESP)
1999Unai OSA (ESP)
1998Christophe RINERO (FRA)
1997Laurent ROUX (FRA)
1995Emmanuel MAGNIEN (FRA)
1994Angel CASERO (ESP)
1993Thomas DAVY (FRA)
1992Hervé GAREL (FRA)
1990Johan BRUYNEEL (BEL)
1989Pascal LINO (FRA)
1988Laurent FIGNON (FRA)
1987Marc MADIOT (FRA)
1986Miguel INDURAIN (ESP)
1985Martin RAMIREZ (COL)
1984Charly MOTTET (FRA)
1983Olaf LUDWIG (ALL)
1982Greg LEMOND (USA)
1981Pascal SIMON (FRA)
1980Alfonso FLOREZ (COL)
1976Sven-Ake NILSSON (SWE)
1973Gianbattista BARONCHELLI (ITA)
1972Fedor DEN HERTOG (NED)
1971Régis OVION (FRA)
1970Marcel DUCHEMIN (FRA)
1968Jean-Pierre BOULARD (FRA)
1967Christian ROBINI (FRA)
1966Mino DENTI (ITA)
1965Mariano DIAZ (ESP)
1964Felice GIMONDI (ITA)
1961Guido DE ROSSO (ITA)